17th Lok Sabha Election held in India General elections are expected to be held in India in April or May 2019 to constitute the seventeenth Parliament. The 543 chose individuals from the Parliament

For the Lok Sabha elections, Rajasthan is considered as a very important state. The state has 25 parliamentary constituencies and 200 assembly seats. Politics has changed drastically in Rajasthan in the past few years, BJP that won all 25 seats in the Lok Sabha Elections 2014 recently lost all 3 seats in the by-elections in Rajasthan to Congress. About 10 months left in the Assembly elections and this is a major alarm for the BJP government led by Vasundhara Raje in Rajasthan. Congress won the seats in Ajmer and Alwar quite comfortably, these are the two seats Congress had lost with a very large margin back in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections when the Modi wave was influencing people to vote for BJP. Mandalgarh assembly seat is also taken back by Congress, Congress had lost this seat back in 2013 when Vasundhara Raje took control of the government with a three-fourths majority.

Rahul Gandhi was Quite happy with the victory of Congress candidates in the polls, he tweeted”Well done Rajasthan Congress! Proud of each and every one of you. This is a rejection of BJP by the people of Rajasthan.”

The victory of Congress in Alwar can be considered as their biggest victory in Rajasthan where BJP’s Jaswant Singh Yadav, a cabinet minister in the Raje government, was defeated by Congress’s Karan Singh with a huge margin of 1.96 lakh votes. BJP’s Ramswaroop Lamba, son of former Union minister, was defeated by Congress’s Raghu Sharma. BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada was defeated in a Battle for MandalGarh assembly seat with an approximate margin of 13,000 votes.